Stopping to Smell the Roses

orange rosepink rose 2pink rose

I know, I know – the May Flower Challenge is over! But since doing the challenge, I’m really noticing flowers more and when I spotted these beautiful roses, I couldn’t resist whipping the camera out :-). They were in the town gardens near the public library. Waif and I were going to pick up some books, but were there a few minutes before opening time, so decided to walk around the gardens. As well as spotting the roses, we had a read of the plaques giving the history of the garden and the friars’ tower within it. I am ashamed to say that I had never read them before, despite this garden being less than a mile away from my house. Sometimes we are so busy looking elsewhere for new experiences and information that we can ignore what’s right here on our doorsteps. We just need to open our eyes…which brings me to my second index card for the ICAD2 challenge:

icad v #2

I’m calling it “the eyes have it”. Waddya think?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Stopping to Smell the Roses

  1. Janet says:

    Such beautiful roses…I love that first one. It makes me think of orange sherbet! And the eyes are cool. You managed to do lots of different expressions and styles.

    • vivjm says:

      The orange was my favourite too. You don’t see orange roses very often do you?
      I enjoyed the eye doodling – can you tell?!

  2. Lori Moon says:

    I love the eyes, so many different expressions. The roses are beautiful and I am so glad that the May Flower Challenge simply made you more aware of your world around you (that was the goal). xoxo

  3. June is national rose month! Thanks for sharing these!

  4. Allie says:

    Beautiful roses! Yes, sometimes we need to just look around our own back yard. Love your eyes!

  5. Those roses are so beautiful!

  6. Maggie says:

    Love all the eyes! Great idea for a card.

  7. Andria says:

    I love the idea of an ICAD for eyes! What a great way to practice different facial features…wouldn’t that be cool? Thanks for the idea!!

I will reply to comments here on the blog, so please check back if you are looking for a response! I love hearing from you x

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

WOCreads

Reading & Reviewing Works by Women of Color

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Liz Bourke: Books, Opinions, Services

His Futile Preoccupations .....

On a Swiftly Tilting Planet

My Book Strings

Those Who Say "You Only Live Once" Have Never Read a Book. ~John Hughes

JacquiWine's Journal

Mostly books, with a little wine writing on the side

Intermittencies of the Mind

An Unreliable Reader

Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings

So many books, so little time

Books and Reviews

Crime fiction, women's representation and feminism

Bookish Feminist

"Let us pick up our books and pencils. They are our most powerful weapon." --Malala Yousafzai

ALTA Blog

literary translation news and updates

Lizzy's Literary Life

Celebrating the pleasures of a 21st century bookworm

BookerTalk

Adventures with great novels around the world

Death & the Maiden

"For many of us, working with death is an act of resistance. It is our way of reclaiming our space, our bodies, our lives and ourselves."

musing

a laid-back lit journal

Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Books, Movies, Art, Writing, and Cats

heavenali

Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

Never Stop Reading

books & life

