Creative Reading

Daily Paper Prompt # 30 “is to read a bit of a book on something creative”.  This is not a challenge that poses any difficulty for me.  I love to read creative books.  Possibly too much ;-).  I have a shelf full of art & quilting & other books that sits right at the top of our stairs – so it’s all too easy for me to grab one on my way to or from wherever I’m going…I wonder why the housework never gets done?!?

A book I have been dipping into since buying it at the Festival of Quilts a couple of weeks’ back is Jan Bode Smiley’s “The Art of Fabric Books”:

art of fabric books

This book is right up my street! It combines two of my favourite things – books & fabric – and is a treasure trove of techniques and ideas with plenty of inspiration too. And it may explain two unusual charity shop purchases this week. An old sewing pattern:

pattern tissue uses

And a baby’s board book:

altered board books & this little baby

Looking forward to getting started on some altered book projects incorporating these 🙂

Daily Paper Prompt #31 is to go back and finish any paper prompts from the month that you didn’t do! Well, as I only started with prompt #28, that may be a bit ambitious…but I do intend to stick with the prompts in September, and may go back and fill in some of the missing ones from August.

Tagged , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Creative Reading

  1. Janet says:

    I also love creative books and have way too many…including the one you mentioned. I try to read through them when I have time or need inspiration. Have fun with the board book and the pattern.

  2. I have a tonne of creative books, I need to stop buying them, but I am trying to read the freaking Artist’s way again, so I am using the prompt for that. Unfortunately it is still not motivating me very much!! I wish I could get into that book easier.

  3. I love creative books–everything from make your own Mandalas to Mendhi patterns to knitting and calligraphy. I’m glad I’m not the only one with an odd and seemingly incongruous array of book finds that I snag from thrift stores!! Really nice prompt.

    • vivjm says:

      Yes, I am a bit of a sucker for these kinds of books! I’m not sure I will ever find the time to explore all the different projects but still enjoy the books anyway!

  4. Andria says:

    Ooh—fabric books…delicious!!

I will reply to comments here on the blog, so please check back if you are looking for a response! I love hearing from you x

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

WOCreads

Reading & Reviewing Works by Women of Color

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Liz Bourke: Books, Opinions, Services

His Futile Preoccupations .....

On a Swiftly Tilting Planet

My Book Strings

Those Who Say "You Only Live Once" Have Never Read a Book. ~John Hughes

JacquiWine's Journal

Mostly books, with a little wine writing on the side

Intermittencies of the Mind

An Unreliable Reader

Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings

So many books, so little time

Bodies in the Library

Crime, Fiction, and Women Writers

Bookish Feminist

"Let us pick up our books and pencils. They are our most powerful weapon." --Malala Yousafzai

ALTA Blog

literary translation news and updates

Lizzy's Literary Life

Celebrating the pleasures of a 21st century bookworm

BookerTalk

Adventures with great novels around the world

Death & the Maiden

"For many of us, working with death is an act of resistance. It is our way of reclaiming our space, our bodies, our lives and ourselves."

musing

a laid-back lit journal

Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Books, Movies, Art, Writing, and Cats

heavenali

Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

Never Stop Reading

books & life

