Quilts, Mums & Sisters

Did I ever tell you what a star my mum is? Machine quilting is not really my thing – call it a combination of back troubles, limited space, and erm…just lack of love for it. My mum, on the other hand, is an ace at machine quilting, and even enjoys it. So I was overjoyed when she offered to quilt and bind the pink quilt I have been making for a friend’s little girl. I’ve been waiting for a sunny day to get a picture of it, and here it is:

pink quilt on the line

I will admit I didn’t really enjoy making this quilt as much as previous ones. It’s just a bit too conventional. And a bit too pink. But I think the recipient will love it, and that’s the main thing, right?

Moving on from my mum to my sister, H. H does stuff like sending a bundle of quilting fabrics over from the US (where she lives) just because she happens to be passing the Stitching Post :-). A bundle she recently sent included a fabulous map panel “What a World” by Jill McDonald. I have made it into a quilt sandwich and am having fun hand quilting with perle cottons:

what a world in progress

I’m even using different embroidery stitches to quilt, like this buttonhole stitch:

buttonhole mask

and herringbone:

herringbone boat

straight stitches:

russian federation

And – look! – there’s even a little Buddha on there:

even a buddha

What a World indeed!

what a world

And what a mum! And what a sister!

I am very lucky to have such wonderful family members 🙂

Tagged , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Quilts, Mums & Sisters

  1. Janet says:

    You are indeed lucky to have such wonderful family members! The pink quilt is adorable and I’m sure the little girl will love it. And I like how you’re embellishing the map fabric. That must be a fun project to work on with all the little images and words.

  2. The D Clan says:

    That makes my heart smile. xxx.

  3. starscraper99 says:

    Reblogged this on Land Of Reblogs.

  4. Your mum is very clever!! That is gorgeous. And that fabric from your sister…STUNNING!!

  5. spidergran says:

    . . . .and Mum has two lovely daughters and a son who inspire me with their creativity, generosity, originality, eloquence and most of all their love . . . . Oh, and BTW, I really do enjoy machine quilting!

  6. Andria says:

    I love your quilt! I think there is plenty of orange to balance out the pink. And that map quilt…what a treasure!! I absolutely adore maps. How big is that, anyway??

  7. wordpressreport says:

    Reblogged this on WordPress Report.

I will reply to comments here on the blog, so please check back if you are looking for a response! I love hearing from you x

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

WOCreads

Reading & Reviewing Works by Women of Color

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Liz Bourke: Books, Opinions, Services

His Futile Preoccupations .....

On a Swiftly Tilting Planet

My Book Strings

Those Who Say "You Only Live Once" Have Never Read a Book. ~John Hughes

JacquiWine's Journal

Mostly books, with a little wine writing on the side

Intermittencies of the Mind

An Unreliable Reader

Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings

So many books, so little time

Bodies in the Library

Crime, Fiction, and Women Writers

Bookish Feminist

"Let us pick up our books and pencils. They are our most powerful weapon." --Malala Yousafzai

ALTA Blog

literary translation news and updates

Lizzy's Literary Life

Celebrating the pleasures of a 21st century bookworm

BookerTalk

Adventures with great novels around the world

Death & the Maiden

"For many of us, working with death is an act of resistance. It is our way of reclaiming our space, our bodies, our lives and ourselves."

musing

a laid-back lit journal

Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Books, Movies, Art, Writing, and Cats

heavenali

Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

Never Stop Reading

books & life

