Quiet Please! Introvert at Work

DPP #57 One Word Journal

I would rather go to the library than to a nightclub.
I would rather stroll through the woods than the city.
I like books better than movies.
I like home cooking better than meals out.
I prefer emails to phone calls (and letters are even better).
I work better alone than as part of a team (though I may not put this on my resume).
I value my friends and family but I need plenty of time to myself too.
My idea of hell on earth would probably look a little like Disneyland.

My name is Viv and I am an introvert.

When I read Daily Prompt #57 One Word Journal Page I knew straight away what my word would be. I am reading Susan Cain’s book “Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking” and it is both a revelation and a comfort. It seems that there is evidence supporting what I have always thought – open plan offices are an abomination, team brainstorming doesn’t work, not all good leaders are extroverts and most creative ideas happen in solitude :-). I’m not sure the cult of the extrovert is at quite the same level in this country as it is in the United States, where Susan Cain is based (there is still some room for the traditional British reserve), but I think we are increasingly headed that way, and I’m not sure that is a good thing. So this “quiet” page is my ode to introverts. There are plenty of us about and we have lots to contribute. Just don’t shout about it!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

30 thoughts on “Quiet Please! Introvert at Work

  1. Janet says:

    Wow! Every one of those first few sentences could have been written by me! I agree with them all. And I like the “quiet” piece you did. The colors really convey that message and the images peeking through are perfect.

  2. Allie says:

    Gads I could have written this, lol. I need my quiet time, the more the better!!!

  3. petit4chocolatier says:

    I love this!

  4. I totally relate to this and think I’d like to read that book.

  5. Julie says:

    Love this! What a great post. I mostly agree although I think I would enjoy the home cooking more if I wasn’t ALWAYS the one doing it! Looking forward to reading the book even more now!

    • vivjm says:

      Lol at the home cooking. I can sympathise. I don’t mind doing the cooking most of the time, if only someone else would come up with what to make some of the time!!

  6. Motherfunker says:

    Love your humility and quietness Viv, I feel like I come to the shore of a lake of calmness when I am near you. I do have a raucous and extrovert side too, and that side comes out with other friends, but I appreciate those times of stillness and contemplation bigtime! Hurray for our uniqueness and thank you for being you 🙂

  7. […] Quiet Please! Introvert at Work (livegrownourishcreate.wordpress.com) […]

  8. ha! this is so me, thanks for posting!

  9. Thank you, thank you! I too am reading that book and have known I was “different” since I was six years old. I am typically the introvert among teams of extroverts, and one of my greatest joys is sharing the gift of “just be” with those whose mantra is “just do it.”

    • vivjm says:

      Thank you for your thoughtful comment. I love the concept of sharing the gift of “just be” with those whose mantra is “just do it”. I’m sure all the most effective teams must need a balance of extroverts & introverts.

      • Thank you–it took me a long time to come to the realization that it is ok to be introverted and that perhaps, if more extroverts took the time to “just be” then our world might be a bit less focused on multitasking and be a bit more comfortable with intentional connection with others.

  10. Laura says:

    That first part could have been written by me! 😉 I am definitely an introvert too. x

  11. Vicki says:

    Viv, most people would call me an extrovert, but I agree with everything on your list (except I do enjoy walking around a large city about once a year). Love your blog,

    xoxo

  12. […] Quiet Please! Introvert at Work (livegrownourishcreate.wordpress.com) […]

  13. Oh, I absolutely loved reading her book! You are so right, it was both a revelation, and an affirmation. I fully support and celebrate your list (except I love movies / quality TV series equally as much 😉 ). Wish you much peace 🙂

    • vivjm says:

      I do like movies & TV sometimes, it’s just I find books suit my style of slow reflection & absorption much better I think. Thanks for your comment, wishing you much peace too x

  14. lynnsweeney says:

    Wow, its like reading my own thoughts, a fellow introvert here.

  15. nightlake says:

    nice post! and definitely not on the resume:)

  16. Ben Naga says:

    Your secret is safe with me. 🙂

I will reply to comments here on the blog, so please check back if you are looking for a response! I love hearing from you x

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

WOCreads

Reading & Reviewing Works by Women of Color

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Liz Bourke: Books, Opinions, Services

His Futile Preoccupations .....

On a Swiftly Tilting Planet

My Book Strings

Those Who Say "You Only Live Once" Have Never Read a Book. ~John Hughes

JacquiWine's Journal

Mostly books, with a little wine writing on the side

Intermittencies of the Mind

An Unreliable Reader

Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings

So many books, so little time

Bodies in the Library

Crime, Fiction, and Women Writers

Bookish Feminist

"Let us pick up our books and pencils. They are our most powerful weapon." --Malala Yousafzai

ALTA Blog

literary translation news and updates

Lizzy's Literary Life

Celebrating the pleasures of a 21st century bookworm

BookerTalk

Adventures with great novels around the world

Death & the Maiden

"For many of us, working with death is an act of resistance. It is our way of reclaiming our space, our bodies, our lives and ourselves."

musing

a laid-back lit journal

Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Books, Movies, Art, Writing, and Cats

heavenali

Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

Never Stop Reading

books & life

