Days 14 & 15: Sometimes it doesn’t go so well

30 Days of Get Your Ar On

Over the last couple of days I have added some bits and pieces to my latest journal spread. First, paint and collage materials; then today, I added some stamps.

soar stamped

I’m not too please with how the stamping went. Some of them are very blurry & splodgy. I thought my ink should have been ok on painted surfaces, and some of the stamps came out ok, like this one:

clear stamp

And others were a blurry mess, like this one:

blurry stamps

I’m not sure what the difference is attributable to!

I did read on the back of the ink pad that it is “ideal for glossy or coated papers”. So maybe not so good for matt, porous, painted papers! But this doesn’t explain why it was ok on other parts of the page.

I think I might abandon this spread for now. I am slowly realising that the pages in this book are just too big for me to comfortably work with, at least when trying to develop a double page spread. I may try it for single page spreads, or move into a smaller journal for now. It’s just not really doing it for me!

So, yeah – art – sometimes it doesn’t go so well πŸ˜‰

On a more positive note, I was thrilled to receive a little package in the mail from the lovely Andria of Drawing Near:

from andria

Check out those super-sweet little matchbook notepads! Andria is actually having a giveaway on her blog this week, so why not hop on over and enter to win some fabulous prizes!

Tagged , ,

5 thoughts on “Days 14 & 15: Sometimes it doesn’t go so well

  1. Strange! Was the page wet at all? Or did you collage different papers underneath? that almost looks like what happens when I ink wet tissue paper. So weird!

  2. And what kind of ink was it? I find that happens sometimes with non-archival ink (like crayola washable ink LOL). πŸ™‚

  3. Cyndi L says:

    That’s really odd that it blurred in some spots but not in others. Maybe there was more gesso on the areas that smeared? Gesso would soak up ink made for glossy paper. Ok, now I’m out of ideas!

    • vivjm says:

      I think you might have it with the gesso – the areas that didn’t blur are round the edges where I probably was a bit less generous with the gesso. I had no idea gesso would soak up ink like that! Ah, we live and learn πŸ™‚

I will reply to comments here on the blog, so please check back if you are looking for a response! I love hearing from you x

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

WOCreads

Reading & Reviewing Works by Women of Color

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Liz Bourke: Books, Opinions, Services

His Futile Preoccupations .....

On a Swiftly Tilting Planet

My Book Strings

Those Who Say "You Only Live Once" Have Never Read a Book. ~John Hughes

JacquiWine's Journal

Mostly books, with a little wine writing on the side

Intermittencies of the Mind

An Unreliable Reader

Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings

So many books, so little time

Bodies in the Library

Crime, Fiction, and Women Writers

Bookish Feminist

"Let us pick up our books and pencils. They are our most powerful weapon." --Malala Yousafzai

ALTA Blog

literary translation news and updates

Lizzy's Literary Life

Celebrating the pleasures of a 21st century bookworm

BookerTalk

Adventures with great novels around the world

Death & the Maiden

"For many of us, working with death is an act of resistance. It is our way of reclaiming our space, our bodies, our lives and ourselves."

musing

a laid-back lit journal

Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Books, Movies, Art, Writing, and Cats

heavenali

Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

Never Stop Reading

books & life

