Papers and Peppers

Continuing with the 30 Day Get Your Art On Challenge, I have been experimenting with a technique taken from Cas Holmes’ excellent book “The Found Object in Textile Art“. The technique is a DIY-style way of making paper something like Japanese momigami paper. After oiling your hands, you crumple and stretch paper for several minutes until you arrive at a fabric-like piece of textured paper. I tried with some brown wrapping paper, a paper napkin and a magazine page and was pretty pleased with results. Here’s a little rock friend holding the papers down for me:

diy momigami

I have also been continuing with the exercises in Dodson’s Keys to Drawing. This exercise was to first draw a pepper from memory, and then to draw one from life. As you can see, there was quite a marked difference between my “remembered” pepper and a real one!

peppers

Tagged , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Papers and Peppers

  1. Andria says:

    You got such interesting results from your paper. Seems like the stretching process could be a little therapeutic! And I love the seeing the contrast between your pepper from memory and your pepper from sight!

  2. Carolyn Dube says:

    These are wonderful ideas to experiment with! Your peppers are inspiring me to try this too! Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog, and the compliment. Just as a demonstration of the randomness of things, I’ve recently signed up to go to a 5 day workshop with Cas Holmes, but not till next April, and here in Western Australia! Small world!
    I will definitely be reading more of your blog.

    • vivjm says:

      Oh wow – bet a workshop with Cas Holmes will be great. I met her at the Knitting & Stitching Show – she seems like a very interesting and passionate person.

  4. Mary Walker says:

    What will you be doing with the paper? For the drawing exercise what if you were to slow down and study in your mind the remembered object, imagine it with lighting and atmosphere? Maybe the results would be more realistic. I’m tempted to try this myself. Thanks for joining this weeks art linkup.

    • vivjm says:

      I will probably use the paper in collage – maybe with fabric too, as it should take stitch quite well.
      I think you are right re the pepper – I probably should have spent a bit more time studying the remembered object in my mind first, for a more realistic comparison.

  5. Beth Berman says:

    I’ve got that book. Must try this. I love your results

  6. Thank you for sharing, I am going to try momigami, and your drawing exercise is insightful, no?

    • vivjm says:

      I think the drawing exercise was very insightful. It made me think (again) about how often we think we “know” something, but when we really look at it, it’s actually quite different…

  7. gonerustic says:

    Love the drawings – both of them! One is an impression of a pepper; the other is more a replication, but still with your own style and interpretation. I think both approaches have a place in art … =D

    • vivjm says:

      Oh, I think you are right that both approaches have a place. I think I am hoping that by learning to draw what I see, it will also help me to draw from my imagination. If that makes sense!

I will reply to comments here on the blog, so please check back if you are looking for a response! I love hearing from you x

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

WOCreads

Reading & Reviewing Works by Women of Color

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Liz Bourke: Books, Opinions, Services

His Futile Preoccupations .....

On a Swiftly Tilting Planet

My Book Strings

Those Who Say "You Only Live Once" Have Never Read a Book. ~John Hughes

JacquiWine's Journal

Mostly books, with a little wine writing on the side

Intermittencies of the Mind

An Unreliable Reader

Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings

So many books, so little time

Bodies in the Library

Crime, Fiction, and Women Writers

Bookish Feminist

"Let us pick up our books and pencils. They are our most powerful weapon." --Malala Yousafzai

ALTA Blog

literary translation news and updates

Lizzy's Literary Life

Celebrating the pleasures of a 21st century bookworm

BookerTalk

Adventures with great novels around the world

Death & the Maiden

"For many of us, working with death is an act of resistance. It is our way of reclaiming our space, our bodies, our lives and ourselves."

musing

a laid-back lit journal

Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Books, Movies, Art, Writing, and Cats

heavenali

Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

Never Stop Reading

books & life

