Sewing Blunders of the Spatially Clueless

Last week I wrote about going back to my sewing roots, and wondered whether I could even learn to make my own clothes. It so happens that Waif needs new pyjamas for the winter. A perfect first dressmaking project I thought. I bought a pattern, some fabric, and carefully cut out the required pattern pieces. So far, so good.

Before I go any further, it may be worth mentioning that I have rubbish spatial skills. At school, I had no problem with algebra or arithmetic but given problems involving symmetry or manipulation of shapes I was flummoxed (my maths teacher helpfully told me that this was “because you are a girl”. Harrumph). Anyway, I digress.

The next step in the process was to cut out the fabric. I carefully pinned the pattern pieces to my washed and pressed fabric, and meticulously cut around those pieces. Unfortunately, I had my folded fabric right side up, and wrong sides together, which means I have ended up with this:

oops

Instead of two front pieces and two back pieces with the pirate design on, I have one front piece with pirate design and one front piece with the reverse of the design; likewise with the back pieces. Oh dear 😦

Luckily, I bought the fabric locally and it was pretty cheap, so I can get some more. And I am determined to get to grips with this! If only I had paid more attention to what my mum did when I was little and she made lots of our clothes…

Still, I can chalk this up to experience and move on. It’s not a mistake I will make again (and surely I am not the first person to do this?!) so I can look on it as a new skill learned. I now know which way to fold my fabric before cutting the pieces out!!

I am not going to give up. Onwards and upwards. I will master this!

Additionally, as a home educating parent, I think it is really important that the boys see that (a) I am learning something new; and (b) I make mistakes; and (c) I don’t give up after making a mistake, but use it to learn something. Job done πŸ™‚

Tagged , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Sewing Blunders of the Spatially Clueless

  1. Ben Naga says:

    Re. your insensitive (could I say stupid?) maths teacher, can I just say I have a bit of a problem with the concept of “master”ing something. Not that you wrote this, but that there really ought to be a better word, and a way to look at the act of achieving a skill. 😦

  2. Andria says:

    Oh, Viv…this sounds EXACTLY like something I would have done. And, oh, I would have been so frustrated. I think it is awesome that you are able to have such a healthy attitude about sticking to it and trying again. You definitely have a knack for sewing, and you will certainly be able to figure this out!

  3. you are definitely setting a great example for your boys. I look forward to seeing this once you sort it out!

  4. I have definitely done this before!! Back in the beginning. You will absolutely master this! The best way to learn quick is f*cking it up! πŸ™‚

    • vivjm says:

      Oh yes, f**king up is defo the way to learn! There’s a quote I’ve seen that goes something like “if you have never made a mistake, you’ve never made anything”. I keep repeating that to myself as I blunder thru learning stuff!!

  5. πŸ™‚ Sewing is not something I’m very comfortable with, so I identify with this post! Thanks for sharing. You might inspire me to give it another go!

  6. willowwears says:

    It’s all part of the process, it make the finished article all the more special after a serious amount of head scratching πŸ™‚

I will reply to comments here on the blog, so please check back if you are looking for a response! I love hearing from you x

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

WOCreads

Reading & Reviewing Works by Women of Color

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Liz Bourke: Books, Opinions, Services

His Futile Preoccupations .....

On a Swiftly Tilting Planet

My Book Strings

Those Who Say "You Only Live Once" Have Never Read a Book. ~John Hughes

JacquiWine's Journal

Mostly books, with a little wine writing on the side

Intermittencies of the Mind

An Unreliable Reader

Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings

So many books, so little time

Books and Reviews

Crime fiction, women's representation and feminism

Bookish Feminist

"Let us pick up our books and pencils. They are our most powerful weapon." --Malala Yousafzai

ALTA Blog

literary translation news and updates

Lizzy's Literary Life

Celebrating the pleasures of a 21st century bookworm

BookerTalk

Adventures with great novels around the world

Death & the Maiden

"For many of us, working with death is an act of resistance. It is our way of reclaiming our space, our bodies, our lives and ourselves."

musing

a laid-back lit journal

Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Books, Movies, Art, Writing, and Cats

heavenali

Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

Never Stop Reading

books & life

