Ongoing Pyjama Saga

After I wrote about what I thought was a terrible cutting out error when planning Waif’s pyjamas, my mum rang me up to say “don’t do anything rash, your pieces are right!”. And she was right. It seems it doesn’t matter whether your fabric is wrong-sides together or right-sides together when you cut the pieces! So, I set to work sewing the trousers together. I sewed the inside legs and the crotch seam. So far, so good. Then, somehow, when sewing the outside leg lengths, something went awry and I ended up with this:

mc hammer pjs

No offence to MC Hammer, but this wasn’t quite the look we were going for! ;-)!

Out came the seam ripper, and I resewed the seam the right way, and yay – I had an item shaped a lot like a pair of pj trousers! Unfortunately, when I called Waif in to show him, I thought “uh-oh” because I realised that these trousers looked much too small. Yep, they were a couple of inches too short in the leg, and in the crotch!! It seems that using the waist and hip measurements of a child to work out the correct pattern size only works when said child is not a skinny beanpole ;-).

Luckily, my very capable and creative mum came to the rescue again, with her suggestion to add a waistband to the top of the trousers, thus solving the problem. This being somewhat beyond my current skillset, I handed them back to her and here they are:

pyjamas with waistband

All I need to do is sew the elastic into the waistband, and hem the bottoms and (fingers crossed) Waif should have a wonderful new pair of pyjama bottoms. Phew.

In other sewing news, things have been a little more straightforward. I have completed the embroidery and quilting on my “What a World” quilt panel:

map completed quilting (9)

And completed two more sides of coloured hexies on my charm quilt:

hexagons 14 rings + 2 sides (2)
hexagons 14 rings + 2 sides (3)

It’s tempting to say I will stick with patchwork and quilting in the future…but I do like the challenge of learning something new, so I am not going to give up with the dressmaking yet!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Ongoing Pyjama Saga

  1. Allie says:

    I made jammies for myself one time, and ended up sewing one leg inside another – garment sewing is just not in my future, lol. I think you did great! Love your hexies. The world map is great!

  2. sewfrench says:

    Oh, that charm quilt is coming along amazingly. I keep being tempted to make another hexie quilt when I see good ones, like yours!

  3. Janet says:

    Thank goodness for moms who come to the rescue! I hope Waif likes his new jammies. Your world quilt and the charm quilt look great.

  4. My first thought was “Hammer pants!!!”. haha. Now I have Can’t Touch This stuck in my head. THANKS! 🙂 The PJs look great!

  5. mamaraby says:

    I hate that moment when you think you’ve gone and made a mistake, though the relief when you find out that things are actually just fine is certainly splendid. Love the charm quilt.

I will reply to comments here on the blog, so please check back if you are looking for a response! I love hearing from you x

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

WOCreads

Reading & Reviewing Works by Women of Color

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Liz Bourke: Books, Opinions, Services

His Futile Preoccupations .....

On a Swiftly Tilting Planet

My Book Strings

Those Who Say "You Only Live Once" Have Never Read a Book. ~John Hughes

JacquiWine's Journal

Mostly books, with a little wine writing on the side

Intermittencies of the Mind

An Unreliable Reader

Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings

So many books, so little time

Books and Reviews

Crime fiction, women's representation and feminism

Bookish Feminist

"Let us pick up our books and pencils. They are our most powerful weapon." --Malala Yousafzai

ALTA Blog

literary translation news and updates

Lizzy's Literary Life

Celebrating the pleasures of a 21st century bookworm

BookerTalk

Adventures with great novels around the world

Death & the Maiden

Exploring the relationship between women & death. All things danse macabre to death row. Examining the deadly & celebrating the 'deadicated'

musing

a laid-back lit journal

Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Books, Movies, Art, Writing, and Cats

heavenali

Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

Never Stop Reading

books & life

