Love What You Wear Project


Just lately, I’ve been reading a bit about the fashion industry and it doesn’t make for pleasant reading. I started with Elizabeth Cline’s “Overdressed: The Shockingly High Cost of Cheap Fashion” and I have now nearly finished Lucy Siegle’s very thorough expose “To Die For: Is Fashion Wearing Out the World?”  I’m not totally naive.  I did realise that the fashion industry wasn’t what you’d call ethical, but I must admit I didn’t have a clue just how bad it was.  Exploitative labour practices; a total disregard for the environment; shocking wastage…not a pretty picture.  The more I read about it, the less I want anything to do with it.  As well as supporting such organisations as Labour Behind the Label and the Clean Clothes Campaign, I feel that I want to change my own relationship to clothes and clothes  buying.  So when I read about the Love What You Wear Project, I thought “Yes! This is it!”  In a nutshell, the project involves a commitment to buying no new clothes for a year, running from 1st November 2012 to 3oth November 2013.  So, we’re looking at buying secondhand, mending or repurposing what we’ve already got or making clothes ourselves.  Just what I had been wanting to try in any case 🙂

 

I want to use this opportunity to really learn how to look after and mend my clothes.
I want to use this opportunity to think more about my consumption.
I want to use this opportunity to learn a new skill – dressmaking.

First things first, though, I have to finish Waif’s pyjamas. Then, I have promised some pyjamas to my husband. After that, maybe I’ll have a go at making myself a skirt with this pattern:

butterick skirt pattern

Watch this space 🙂

Tagged , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Love What You Wear Project

  1. textileshed says:

    Thanks for pointing out that Love what you wear project! I prefer to look like the back of a bus to taking part in the consumerist fashion industry. That does not mean I don’t love clothes and value their history and what they can express…

    • vivjm says:

      I agree. Clothes in the past were expressions of women’s creativity and skills. Now, they are just a means to make a load of money for some corporations 😦

  2. Jen says:

    Oooh, I need to make some PJs for the Smalls. Did you use a bought pattern, or something you found online? Can we see a pic?!

  3. Mizz Winkens says:

    I really like the Love What You Wear Project idea! I’m a little late coming to it but I think I might just give it a go. I used to do a lot of “frankensteining” of clothes when I was younger. That’s adding/removing bits from second-hand shop finds. Customising I guess you’d call it…. I think I’m a bit too old to get away with some of the stuff I used to wear, then again I do like a challenge!!!

    • vivjm says:

      I love the term “frankensteining” – so much more descriptive than “customising” 🙂
      It would be great if you joined in with the project too!

  4. in for the challenge shall start this week bit late and a bit old but hey need the money saved on clothes for gas and lecky

  5. Well thanks a lot for all the infos. It inspired me to join the “love what you wear project”. It will have to be for myself only, as my skills are not good enough to provide clothes for my son. Still, quite a challenge, but well worth it !

  6. Hilary says:

    Hi – I just signed up to the Love what you Wear project too and wanted to say hello – I love your blog too and those pj’s look great 🙂

I will reply to comments here on the blog, so please check back if you are looking for a response! I love hearing from you x

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

WOCreads

Reading & Reviewing Works by Women of Color

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Liz Bourke: Books, Opinions, Services

His Futile Preoccupations .....

On a Swiftly Tilting Planet

My Book Strings

Those Who Say "You Only Live Once" Have Never Read a Book. ~John Hughes

JacquiWine's Journal

Mostly books, with a little wine writing on the side

Intermittencies of the Mind

An Unreliable Reader

Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings

So many books, so little time

Bodies in the Library

Crime, Fiction, and Women Writers

Bookish Feminist

"Let us pick up our books and pencils. They are our most powerful weapon." --Malala Yousafzai

ALTA Blog

literary translation news and updates

Lizzy's Literary Life

Celebrating the pleasures of a 21st century bookworm

BookerTalk

Adventures with great novels around the world

Death & the Maiden

"For many of us, working with death is an act of resistance. It is our way of reclaiming our space, our bodies, our lives and ourselves."

musing

a laid-back lit journal

Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Books, Movies, Art, Writing, and Cats

heavenali

Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

Never Stop Reading

books & life

