Binding & Bargains

Quilts: I like thinking about them; I like looking at them; I like designing them; I like piecing them; I like quilting and embellishing them. I do NOT like binding them! Luckily, my rather awesome and talented mum DOES like binding quilts so it would be rude not to give them to her to bind ๐Ÿ˜‰

Here’s the “What a World” panel which I have quilted and embroidered, and my mum has beautifully bound:

what a world

I had thought this would make a wall hanging, but it drapes so beautifully and is snuggly, that I think we will use it as an extra quilt for keeping knees warm when we are sitting on the sofa. And maybe our geography skills will improve at the same time!

I wrote a week or two ago about signing up for the Love What You Wear Project – a commitment to not buying any new clothes for a year – and in the meantime, I have been looking at lots of dressmaking books and patterns, trying to summon up the courage to start work on a garment for myself. Today, when perusing the charity shops, I found this fabric for sale for ยฃ4. It’s 60″ wide, and there’s almost 3 metres of it – bargain! I think it will be just the thing for making an A-line skirt for the summer:

bargain fabric

I also picked up this amazing Anatomy Coloring Book for 50p:

anatomy coloring book

A valuable addition to our homeschool library!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “Binding & Bargains

  1. Julie says:

    The quilt looks fabulous. I love snuggly quilts!

  2. Janet says:

    That world quilt is one of my favorite things you’ve done. LOVE it! And what a bargain on the fabric…it should make a pretty skirt.

    I have that anatomy coloring book. I’d actually forgotten about it until I saw your picture of it. I’ll have to get it out and see what I can use from it. Thanks for inspiring me!

  3. Fiona says:

    Wow! That was a brilliant bargain. Your quilt is wonderful.

  4. Suzy says:

    Viv,
    Love the fabric for the skirt! That will look really nice made up in that pattern. Your world quilt is a panel? Very cool idea to make into a lap quilt and extra nice of your mum to bind it for you.
    Suzy

  5. skalabara says:

    Oh, I love binding quilts. It is the last step and your quilt is finished. I do binding entirely with the sewing machine and it goes sooo quickly. Your World Quilt is really nice!!

  6. Hilary says:

    Can’t wait to see the finished skirt ~ that fabric looks great ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Ben Naga says:

    “What A World” is an impressive piece of work, and I am indeed impressed.

  8. Wow. I absolutely LOVE this world quilt. It’s too good to use to snuggle ๐Ÿ˜€ I admire the patience Viv. I’ve never had much patience for sewing and cried at sewing lessons in school. I’m loving the slow pace that such crafts demand of me and I’m slowly taking up painting again and who knows maybe sewing too! You inspire me. Sharon

    • vivjm says:

      Thank you! I never really thought of myself as a patient person, but people often say to me “I couldn’t do that, I don’t have the patience” so maybe I am. Or maybe it’s the quilting and crafting and home educating that has taught me to be patient! I didn’t learn to sew until 2009, when a good friend took me in hand, so it’s never too late to learn (my school sewing experience also had me in tears!!)

I will reply to comments here on the blog, so please check back if you are looking for a response! I love hearing from you x

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

WOCreads

Reading & Reviewing Works by Women of Color

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Liz Bourke: Books, Opinions, Services

His Futile Preoccupations .....

On a Swiftly Tilting Planet

My Book Strings

Those Who Say "You Only Live Once" Have Never Read a Book. ~John Hughes

JacquiWine's Journal

Mostly books, with a little wine writing on the side

Intermittencies of the Mind

An Unreliable Reader

Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings

So many books, so little time

Bodies in the Library

Crime, Fiction, and Women Writers

Bookish Feminist

"Let us pick up our books and pencils. They are our most powerful weapon." --Malala Yousafzai

ALTA Blog

literary translation news and updates

Lizzy's Literary Life

Celebrating the pleasures of a 21st century bookworm

BookerTalk

Adventures with great novels around the world

Death & the Maiden

"For many of us, working with death is an act of resistance. It is our way of reclaiming our space, our bodies, our lives and ourselves."

musing

a laid-back lit journal

Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Books, Movies, Art, Writing, and Cats

heavenali

Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

Never Stop Reading

books & life

