The Perfect Fit (for a Lego Damsel…?)

So, following the wonderful advice from lovely readers and sewing forumites, I have deconstructed the skirt and basted back together to try and get a better fit. Basically I have pulled it up and taken in the side seams (more at the hips than the waist). I have only basted, so excuse any tatty stitching, dangling threads and what-have-you 😉

Here’s the front:

front of skirt

The side:

side of skirt

The back:

back of skirt

It definitely is a better fit. It may, in fact, be as good a fit as I am going to get for this particular skirt pattern.

However, I’m still not convinced about the A-line skirt on my lacking-in-any-womanly curves figure! It just makes me think of a skirt made out of Lego bricks, like this lovely damsel Gman kindly photographed:

lego damsel

My mum thinks it would work better in a more draping fabric. She’s probably right, but not sure whether to try that or go for something completely different!!

In any case, my next sewing project is going to be a top. A nice, floaty top which will hopefully fit first time 🙂 It will be made from some broderie anglaise from my late grandmother’s (extensive) stash, so again is low risk. What do you think?:

M5050 with fabric

Tagged , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “The Perfect Fit (for a Lego Damsel…?)

  1. Angela says:

    It looks cracking! I can see it with a figure hugging roll neck (turquoise) and boots for the winter and you will have a very retro 60s look to show off your lovely skinny malinky figure and then throw on some flip flops for the summer….

  2. textileshed says:

    It looks really lovely! It’s the only kind of skirt that looks ok on me, by the way – in this length or down to the calves. I think once you have nailed this pattern, you just look out for nice fabric stick to this fail-safe solution. And I agree with the above suggestion, this shape is versatile – great for summer and winter. You can sew a plain skirt and wear it with funky tights and tops…

    • vivjm says:

      Thank you – I think I will try making the skirt in a fabric with a pattern that is a little less BIG, to see if it works better for a shorty like me. I do think it will be a versatile pattern to use, once I get to grips with what fabrics work best. It’s all a learning curve and I love learning new skills 🙂

  3. oanh says:

    Hey! It looks great! Fab job.

  4. The D Clan says:

    You, my darling sister, love absolutely stunning in this skirt. I love it. I think it looks GREAT on you 🙂

  5. NatashaMay says:

    It looks more clean cut now. Great job! 🙂

  6. Ben Naga says:

    Well done. And now … the sky’s the limit! D)

  7. prttynpnk says:

    I like it! It isnt turning you into a human bell and I love the print!

  8. Gjeometry says:

    ha ha ha. I do love Legos, but don’t really want to look like one. But, I always thought that A-Line was supposed to either add curves or disguise them, good for both. I made an A-Line skirt (check here: http://gjeometry.com/2012/12/29/easy-a-line-skirt/ ) and have no curves at all, but am now nervous that I look like a Lego person in it. What do you think? Yay or Nay? Personally, I think yours looks very nice on you, adds some curves.

    • vivjm says:

      Ah, I don’t think you look like a Lego person in yours :-). It looks lovely. I think your fabric choice was probably a lot better suited to the A-line shape than mine was – maybe I will give A-line another shot, but in something a bit drapier and swishier, d’ya think?
      I’m always after ways to add more curves 😉

      • Gjeometry says:

        Ok, thanks! Well, my fabric had the kind of pattern that went across the grain instead of along it, so I actually had to cut it so the cross grain was vertical. Maybe this helps in letting it stretch downward instead of stretching side to side. Also, I think the pattern going up and down the skirt lets your eye move up and down instead of across, so that likely helps with calming down some of the Lego effect 🙂

I will reply to comments here on the blog, so please check back if you are looking for a response! I love hearing from you x

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

WOCreads

Reading & Reviewing Works by Women of Color

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Liz Bourke: Books, Opinions, Services

His Futile Preoccupations .....

On a Swiftly Tilting Planet

My Book Strings

Those Who Say "You Only Live Once" Have Never Read a Book. ~John Hughes

JacquiWine's Journal

Mostly books, with a little wine writing on the side

Intermittencies of the Mind

An Unreliable Reader

Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings

So many books, so little time

Bodies in the Library

Crime, Fiction, and Women Writers

Bookish Feminist

"Let us pick up our books and pencils. They are our most powerful weapon." --Malala Yousafzai

ALTA Blog

literary translation news and updates

Lizzy's Literary Life

Celebrating the pleasures of a 21st century bookworm

BookerTalk

Adventures with great novels around the world

Death & the Maiden

"For many of us, working with death is an act of resistance. It is our way of reclaiming our space, our bodies, our lives and ourselves."

musing

a laid-back lit journal

Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Books, Movies, Art, Writing, and Cats

heavenali

Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

Never Stop Reading

books & life

