Colour, Corduroy and Sensible Shoes: My Style

Following on from my “Help me dress myself” post, I’ve been giving a bit more thought to defining what is my style. I’m not sure how I ended up there, but I found Retrochick’s series of posts quite useful. There was the usual advice about putting together pictures of looks you like and so forth but I found her advice to think about what you liked to wear as a teenager “when you weren’t dressing for anyone else” especially helpful. I think my teenage style was best described as anti-fashion. I refused to wear what other people wore, but instead went for my own eccentric mixture of things. I liked wearing pretty dresses but coupled with army surplus stuff and DM boots. I liked stripes and crazy colours. But most of all I would never, under any circumstance, have even considered the possibility of wearing high heeled shoes. Not to a wedding, not to a nightclub, not to an interview. High heels? No thanks. I understand that some women find wearing heels makes them feel sexy. Wearing high heels just makes me feel awkward. Awkward is not sexy. Comfortable in your own skin (and shoes) is much more sexy I reckon.

Anyway, after thinking about the teenage clothes thing, I started to think about the clothes I have or have had that I like to wear and make me feel good, and this helped me to put together a doodle of what I think is “my style” and what I think is “not my style”. Please excuse the terrible drawing (especially of the shoes ;-))

My Style:

my style

The necklines are all ones I have found flattering to my somewhat skinny upper body.
I like things that are floaty and drapey, but they need to have some shaping under the bust, or they just drown me.
Colours are good.
So are spots & stripes.
Corduroy is my favourite fabric. But I also like linen & velvet & chiffon.
Sensible shoes are the way to go.

Not My Style:

not my style

As I have mentioned before, I am an introvert. My hobbies include such wild and crazy activities as sewing, drawing and reading. I am more likely to go to the library than a party. And I am a stay at home mum. As such I don’t have a lot of call for satin dresses or smart, tailored clothes. And there is no way I want anything in my wardrobe that needs dry cleaning *shudder*.
I don’t have the bosom for halter necks or deep V-necks.
I’m too old for very short skirts.
I’m too short for very long skirts.
And I like to be able to move in my clothes – ride my bike, run for the bus, reach books off the top shelf.

I think these lists are going to help me understand what it is I want to sew for myself. My McCalls M5050 pattern fits my criteria (it was just the fabric that made it a bit “milkmaid“) so I am going to remake it in some lightweight green polka dot fabric. After that, I am going to have a shot at Deer & Doe’s Robe Sureau. It has shaping round the bust, isn’t too short or too long, would look good in corduroy, and doesn’t seem to require high heel wearing to look good. Check out the Flickr pool here.

Tagged , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Colour, Corduroy and Sensible Shoes: My Style

  1. Janet says:

    Good for you for following through with this and learning what you like and don’t like. I’m with you on the shoes. I look at those HIGH heels and think broken ankle! I go for comfort in shoes but then I’m much older. I doubt if I could wear those heels even when I was younger.

  2. Gjeometry says:

    Hmmm, I have to say, I understand the concept of going back to your teenage years to find yourself a bit more, free from society, etc. But, I have to say, I would never, EVER dress the way I did as a teenager, lol. Maybe it’s better to say, go back to your 20’s when you at least had some style criteria and a better sense of self, along with the “I don’t really care what you think” attitude. Oh, and so excited to see that ‘velvet’ is on your green checkmark list πŸ™‚ Drape yourself in it, I say!!

    • vivjm says:

      I don’t think the idea is to go back to dressing how you did as a teenager, just to get a better idea of what you might wear if you weren’t worried about the impression you were making. I think I lost the “don’t really care what you think” in my 20s but have regained it with a vengeance in my 30s!
      My favourite dress is made of green velvet. I love velvet & would be quite happy to drape myself in it πŸ˜‰

  3. sewingforfun says:

    I so agree with you on the criteria of cltohes. Why be uncomfortable when you can look great and feel great!!! Practical styles with a bit of fun is a wonderful way to go πŸ™‚ Good luck on the polka dots, looking forward to seing it take shape πŸ™‚

  4. It’s taken me years to find what I like wearing and what I feel good in. I just wish I could wear velvet in the summer too!!

    • vivjm says:

      I think it will take me a few more years to apply what I have worked out to what is actually in my wardrobe too! Yes, velvet’s not everso practical for summer!

  5. Motherfunker says:

    I think you are very groovy madam! x

  6. NatashaMay says:

    Lol! I’m the same way. Although I like to buy high heels but never get to wear them. Silly i know. πŸ™‚

I will reply to comments here on the blog, so please check back if you are looking for a response! I love hearing from you x

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

WOCreads

Reading & Reviewing Works by Women of Color

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Liz Bourke: Books, Opinions, Services

His Futile Preoccupations .....

On a Swiftly Tilting Planet

My Book Strings

Those Who Say "You Only Live Once" Have Never Read a Book. ~John Hughes

JacquiWine's Journal

Mostly books, with a little wine writing on the side

Intermittencies of the Mind

An Unreliable Reader

Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings

So many books, so little time

Books and Reviews

Crime fiction, women's representation and feminism

Bookish Feminist

"Let us pick up our books and pencils. They are our most powerful weapon." --Malala Yousafzai

ALTA Blog

literary translation news and updates

Lizzy's Literary Life

Celebrating the pleasures of a 21st century bookworm

BookerTalk

Adventures with great novels around the world

Death & the Maiden

"For many of us, working with death is an act of resistance. It is our way of reclaiming our space, our bodies, our lives and ourselves."

musing

a laid-back lit journal

Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Books, Movies, Art, Writing, and Cats

heavenali

Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

Never Stop Reading

books & life

