Festival of Quilts – Oh My!

This weekend I have visited the Festival of Quilts at the NEC! Oh my, what a fantastic exhibition!

I was a very good girl and refrained from buying any fabric (knowing that I have no storage space left whatsoever). Unfortunately, I forgot that my bookshelves are also overflowing and did buy *ahem* one or two books ;-).

Last year, one of my favourite quilts was made by Tracy Aplin, and the same applied this year. Here is her quilt “Tracy’s Reel Medallion”. I love the colours. I love the quirky fabrics. I love the hand quilting. I love the jumbo rickrack. Great stuff!

651 Tracy Aplin Tracy's Reel Medallion
651 Tracy Aplin Tracy's Reel Medallion detail
651 Tracy Aplin Tracy's Reel Medallion detail (4)
651 Tracy Aplin Tracy's Reel Medallion detail (3)
651 Tracy Aplin Tracy's Reel Medallion detail (2)

I was pleased to see several hexagon quilts, including this amazing one: “Fibonacci Fandango” by Jess Williams:

533 Jess Williams Fibonacci Fandango

I have a thing for rust, so I loved this quilt by Alison Mesley:

56 Alison Mesley Transport of Delight

And the geek in me was very drawn to Kirsty Daum’s “The Tenth”:

902 Kirsty DaumThe Tenth

Another favourite was the Thread and Thrift exhibition by Mandy Pattullo. I particularly loved these little blue textile collages:

SAM_0895
SAM_0896
SAM_0897

Did you go to the Festival of Quilts this year? What caught your eye?

Tagged , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Festival of Quilts – Oh My!

  1. annjrippin says:

    Isn’t it interesting that we picked different things. I loved Mandy Pattullo’s work and have a blog scheduled on it next week. I wish I had been in time to buy something of hers. I love the ones you chose and brilliant picking out of the details. I didn’t include David Tennant in my pick, but he was lush too!

    • vivjm says:

      Oh, Mandy Pattullo’s work was wonderful. Each piece seemed a stitched story, which really appealed. Another favourite of mine was the Indian quilts from Godhari – I didn’t take photos, but I did buy the book which is lush and I will probably post a review of it soon.

  2. textileshed says:

    I just LOVE that medallion quilt – WOW! Thanks for sharing!

    • vivjm says:

      It’s wonderful isn’t it? In her statement, Tracy Aplin said she had been really inspired by Gwen Marston’s Liberated Medallion book, which is a favourite of mine, so I have been newly inspired to dig it out and pore over it!

  3. I missed the show this year as it coincided with our holiday, but loved your picks from it and especially the closeups of that bright funky quilt!

  4. Tracy aplin says:

    Hello, Tracy Aplin here. Just seen your lovely comment on my quilt…I got in touch with you before when I found last years quilt on your blog. I am working on another quilt already for next years show!!! Thank you for sharing too😊

I will reply to comments here on the blog, so please check back if you are looking for a response! I love hearing from you x

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

WOCreads

Reading & Reviewing Works by Women of Color

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Liz Bourke: Books, Opinions, Services

His Futile Preoccupations .....

On a Swiftly Tilting Planet

My Book Strings

Those Who Say "You Only Live Once" Have Never Read a Book. ~John Hughes

JacquiWine's Journal

Mostly books, with a little wine writing on the side

Intermittencies of the Mind

An Unreliable Reader

Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings

So many books, so little time

Bodies in the Library

Crime, Fiction, and Women Writers

Bookish Feminist

"Let us pick up our books and pencils. They are our most powerful weapon." --Malala Yousafzai

ALTA Blog

literary translation news and updates

Lizzy's Literary Life

Celebrating the pleasures of a 21st century bookworm

BookerTalk

Adventures with great novels around the world

Death & the Maiden

"For many of us, working with death is an act of resistance. It is our way of reclaiming our space, our bodies, our lives and ourselves."

musing

a laid-back lit journal

Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Books, Movies, Art, Writing, and Cats

heavenali

Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

Never Stop Reading

books & life

