Crazy stars

I’ve only sewn one more star, but I have turned all four stars into hexagons with the addition of background diamonds: hexagon star 1 hexagon star 2 hexagon star 3 hexagon star 4

I love each of these star-in-a-hexagon blocks. Together, though, I’m not so sure.

first four hexagon stars

Are they going to be just toooo crazy?  I feel they might need spacing with something easier on the eye.  I think the options are:

1. Intersperse with neutral coloured shapes eg hexagons or triangles

2. Make the stars as I am doing but do half with neutral (white or pale pink?) or contrasting (dark red?) background pieces

3. Applique the hexagon stars onto neutral or contrasting background squares.

I am inclined to go with the first option, but not sure which shape would be best.  The hexagons would have four inch sides, but that’s a lot bigger than I’ve previously pieced with English  paper piecing.  I don’t know if size is an issue or not!  Otherwise, it would be equilateral triangles but I’m a bit worried about the bias edges…Your thoughts would be appreciated, dear reader 🙂

Once again, I am linking up with Life Under Quilts‘ Monday Morning Star Count.

Tagged , , , ,

16 thoughts on “Crazy stars

  1. Sharon Mann says:

    Nicely done, and beautiful color combinations.

  2. Veronika says:

    I think they look fab together, nothing else needed!

  3. Pamela says:

    Wonderful bright fabrics. I think they are great, just the way they are.

  4. Jill says:

    Personally, I love them as they are. If you’re concerned about all the colors working nicely together (and of course, you can see the true colors better than I can on my computer), I think option #1 with neutral hexies in between would look good. Lately I’ve been adoring mixing solids and prints, so I think a nice neutral Kona would tone down those hot colors.

    • vivjm says:

      Thanks Jill. The only worry I had with hexies in between would be that they would be so BIG (4 inch sides). I’ve never EPP’d anything that big and wasn’t sure how easy it would be. I like prints and solids together too!

  5. Maureen says:

    I also think they look nice with the bright colors. (I really love saturated color!) Maybe make some more and then see how you like them? You can always add some neutrals later on or use a low key border if you think it’s necessary.

    • vivjm says:

      Thanks Maureen. I think I will keep stitching them as they are for now & hope the answer comes to me when I’ve got a few more. I do love bright colours!

  6. Cecille says:

    I think your color choices are marvelous! You’ve taken a traditional block and updated it with wonderful bright and happy colors. I wouldn’t change a thing…

  7. annjrippin says:

    I like it as it is. I really like a scrappy look which lots of prints together gives. It will be really lovely to have in November when everything else is grey!

  8. You could use large hexagons to mix in with these colourful ones! Don’t use just one type of fabric… Make hexagons like the bright ones in more subtle colours, use some solids which you can use more fancy designs on at the quilting stage… Keep it scrappy, happy and random, whatever you do!

    • vivjm says:

      I hadn’t got as far ahead as thinking about the quilting!! But yes, good idea as long as I can keep control of such big hexagons 🙂

I will reply to comments here on the blog, so please check back if you are looking for a response! I love hearing from you x

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

WOCreads

Reading & Reviewing Works by Women of Color

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Liz Bourke: Books, Opinions, Services

His Futile Preoccupations .....

On a Swiftly Tilting Planet

My Book Strings

Those Who Say "You Only Live Once" Have Never Read a Book. ~John Hughes

JacquiWine's Journal

Mostly books, with a little wine writing on the side

Intermittencies of the Mind

An Unreliable Reader

Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings

So many books, so little time

Books and Reviews

Crime fiction, women's representation and feminism

Bookish Feminist

"Let us pick up our books and pencils. They are our most powerful weapon." --Malala Yousafzai

ALTA Blog

literary translation news and updates

Lizzy's Literary Life

Celebrating the pleasures of a 21st century bookworm

BookerTalk

Adventures with great novels around the world

Death & the Maiden

"For many of us, working with death is an act of resistance. It is our way of reclaiming our space, our bodies, our lives and ourselves."

musing

a laid-back lit journal

Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Books, Movies, Art, Writing, and Cats

heavenali

Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

Never Stop Reading

books & life

