A Solitary Star

I have just a single, solitary star to add to my tally this week:

Hexagon star number 23

I had planned on finishing a second star while Rafe was at his Sunday evening swimming training. I had everything at the ready:

Everything I need

Unfortunately, as it started to get dark about 6pm I realised that the light in the place I was sitting was absolutely rubbish! So, poor light stopped play:

Bad light stops play

Next week, I will try and find a brighter spot to sit!!

I am linking up to Kathy’s Quilts: Slow Sunday Stitching, which I have just found out about via fellow EPP-er sewhappyquilting (a day late, I know, but now I’ve found out about it I can be on time next week!)

Also linking to the Monday Morning Star Count at Life Under Quilts.

Tagged , ,

23 thoughts on “A Solitary Star

  1. annjrippin says:

    You really do need good light for English paper piecing don’t you. I am making a patchwork dog and can only do it in strong light.

  2. Kay says:

    Love you colour combos. True about the light, though I find a daylight bulb helps

    • vivjm says:

      Yes, I have a super Ott lamp at home with a daylight bulb – I wonder if I could get a daylight bulb head lamp for when I’m sewing away from home?! I’m sure I would get some very odd looks though 🙂

  3. Lighting is so important when hand stitching.
    Thanks for linking up!

  4. Katie says:

    I like your colors. Beautiful.

  5. Kay says:

    Love your blog and have nominated it for a Leibster Award. Please don’t feel obligated to join in but it would be great if you could. You can find all out all about it here https://thecraftyyak.wordpress.com/2015/10/05/leibster-blog-award/

    • vivjm says:

      Kay – I am really, really flattered that you like my blog and have nominated it for an award. However, I don’t accept blog awards – I wrote a post about it a few years back if you’d like to read it (https://livegrownourishcreate.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/blog-award-paralysis/). I hope you’re not offended and will continue to read the blog & hopefully my readers will check out your blog & see your wonderful quilt projects.

      • Kay says:

        No I’m not offended in the least and I will definitely still keep reading your blog. It was interesting to read your view on ‘challenges’. I like to challenge myself but also take part for motivation as I went through a bit of a slump. It worked and I have a notebook full of ideas now. Each to their own and the World is all the better for it

  6. Jill says:

    Your colors are cheerful. I have always liked yellow and pink combinations. I have yet to try EPP.

  7. Pamela says:

    I need more and more light, the older I get! Beautiful bright colors!

  8. Maureen says:

    I think even one star is good progress some weeks, especially when it turns out as nice as yours! Thanks for mentioning me, and I’m glad you found Slow Sunday Stitching, there’s always so much nice work posted there and it really is inspirational. Keeps me motivated and as much as I love to sew, sometimes it’s so hard to find time. I love that about blogging and other social media – so many people are creating beauty out there!

    • vivjm says:

      I’m really glad I found slow Sunday stitching so thanks for the inspiration! Hopefully, light permitting, it will be at least a two star week this week 🙂

  9. Many a mickle makes a muckle! Often said in our family especially when we are packing up for a cycle tour.

  10. claire93 says:

    oooh stars! a great idea for a portable project ^^

I will reply to comments here on the blog, so please check back if you are looking for a response! I love hearing from you x

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

WOCreads

Reading & Reviewing Works by Women of Color

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Liz Bourke: Books, Opinions, Services

His Futile Preoccupations .....

On a Swiftly Tilting Planet

My Book Strings

Those Who Say "You Only Live Once" Have Never Read a Book. ~John Hughes

JacquiWine's Journal

Mostly books, with a little wine writing on the side

Intermittencies of the Mind

An Unreliable Reader

Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings

So many books, so little time

Bodies in the Library

Crime, Fiction, and Women Writers

Bookish Feminist

"Let us pick up our books and pencils. They are our most powerful weapon." --Malala Yousafzai

ALTA Blog

literary translation news and updates

Lizzy's Literary Life

Celebrating the pleasures of a 21st century bookworm

BookerTalk

Adventures with great novels around the world

Death & the Maiden

"For many of us, working with death is an act of resistance. It is our way of reclaiming our space, our bodies, our lives and ourselves."

musing

a laid-back lit journal

Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Books, Movies, Art, Writing, and Cats

heavenali

Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

Never Stop Reading

books & life

