Dotty for EPP

I’ve had a reasonably productive week of English paper piecing. Putting the photos together, I’ve noticed there seems to be something of a dotty theme! It wasn’t intentional 🙂

Here’s star number 30:

Hexagon star number 30

And number 31:

Hexagon star number 31

I’ve also been back on hexagons, ready to make a pincushion and matching needlebook for a friend. The pincushion hexagons are 3/4 inch per side and the little flower is made of teeny tiny 1/2 inch hexies. Hopefully, by next week’s Slow Stitching Sunday I’ll have the finished articles to show you.

2015-11-13_04-06-29

Tagged , ,

28 thoughts on “Dotty for EPP

  1. katechiconi says:

    I can’t see any problem with lots of lovely dots! One of my favourite patterns, keep it up!

  2. Gail says:

    I have a drawer of dots and love using them in my projects! How many stars are you planning to make? I love the bright colours. Nice hexies too.

    • vivjm says:

      I seem to have quite a collection of dotty fabrics too – though have never consciously sought them out! I think I am going to aim for 40 stars and see how I feel then.

  3. Beautiful ! Enjoy your stitching today 🙂

  4. Carla says:

    Love your blocks. That needle book and pin cushion are going to be so cute!

  5. CathieJ says:

    I absolutely adore #31. It pulled me right in from Slow Sunday Stitching to read your blog. I am enjoying watching all those stars emerge.

  6. Love dots, and especially the tiny hexies!

  7. Deb says:

    Dot themes are always nice to see!

  8. daneesey says:

    LOVE your hexies! Especially the floral and dots mix in the middle — it’s super gorgeous!! 🙂

  9. Karen in Breezy Point says:

    Dots make everything better (and cuter!).

  10. Kay says:

    Can never have too many spotty fabrics – especially when you are putting them to such good use

  11. Jennifer says:

    Your dots are pretty as are all your EPP projects.

  12. Jill says:

    Dots add so much fun and cheerful interest. I thought you were adding the dotted fabric as part of the design. Lol!

    • vivjm says:

      Well, I will be using a dotty fabric for my intersecting triangles but hadn’t intentionally gone for lots of dots in the star design – I guess I am just drawn to dottiness!!

  13. Dawn says:

    Fantastic blocks! Dots are classic, and yours look great!

  14. Stephie says:

    Gorgeous colours! And I notice that on your hexies you have the exact same fussy cut flowers as I have in mine, haha! Great minds obviously think alike 😀 Look forward to seeing your finished projects next weekend, have fun stitching!

  15. lapaylor says:

    love dots! LeeAnna at not afraid of color

I will reply to comments here on the blog, so please check back if you are looking for a response! I love hearing from you x

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

WOCreads

Reading & Reviewing Works by Women of Color

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Liz Bourke: Books, Opinions, Services

His Futile Preoccupations .....

On a Swiftly Tilting Planet

My Book Strings

Those Who Say "You Only Live Once" Have Never Read a Book. ~John Hughes

JacquiWine's Journal

Mostly books, with a little wine writing on the side

Intermittencies of the Mind

An Unreliable Reader

Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings

So many books, so little time

Bodies in the Library

Crime, Fiction, and Women Writers

Bookish Feminist

"Let us pick up our books and pencils. They are our most powerful weapon." --Malala Yousafzai

ALTA Blog

literary translation news and updates

Lizzy's Literary Life

Celebrating the pleasures of a 21st century bookworm

BookerTalk

Adventures with great novels around the world

Death & the Maiden

"For many of us, working with death is an act of resistance. It is our way of reclaiming our space, our bodies, our lives and ourselves."

musing

a laid-back lit journal

Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Books, Movies, Art, Writing, and Cats

heavenali

Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Hard Book Habit

Reading classics and hard books, and spouting rhubarb about them

Never Stop Reading

books & life

